and French. Strict discipline, combined with physical training, riding, drill and outdoor games, forms part of the curriculum.

The College is situated on a beautiful peninsula, one mile from Kingston, with the Cataraqui river on the one side, emptying into the St. Lawrence river at its junction with lake Ontario, and Navy bay on the other. The grounds include about 500 acres. The buildings of the College proper are situated on the above-mentioned peninsula, comprising 60 acres. The remainder of the grounds, on which stands the historic Fort Henry, are at the disposal of the College for use as a training area. On the point of the College peninsula is situated Fort Frederick, built in 1837 when Kingston became the capital of Canada, the fort comprising a portion of the defences of Kingston. The College is under the supervision of Militia Headquarters, which appoints annually an advisory board composed of leading Canadian citizens, both civil and military. The staff is composed of a commandant and a staff-adjutant, assisted by a competent staff of civil and military professors and instructors.

A four years' course leads to a "diploma with honours" or "diploma" and "certificate of discharge." A number of commissions in the Canadian Permanent Force, as well as commissions in the Royal Artillery, Royal Engineers and other branches of the regular British Army are annually offered to graduates. To those graduates joining the British Army, the privilege of one year's seniority is granted in the British or Indian Armies. This has been arranged in order to equalize the seniority of graduates of the Royal Military College of Canada with those of Woolwich or Sandhurst, since the course at the latter institutions is shorter than the Canadian. Positions in the Public Works Department, hydrographic surveys, etc., may also be obtained by graduates. Several Canadian universities admit graduates to the third years of arts and science courses.

III.—PUBLIC WORKS.

Since Confederation and before, the Department of Public Works has been known as the constructing Department. In 1879 the railways and canals were placed under control of a new department, the building and maintenance of penitentiaries were transferred to the Department of Justice, the maintenance and construction of lighthouses to the Marine and Fisheries Department, and the smaller drill halls and armouries to the Department of Militia and Defence. The work of the Department of Public Works is now divided into three principal branches, viz., the Engineering Branch, the Architect's Branch and the Telegraph Branch.

Engineering.—The Engineering Branch conducts the construction and repair of wharves, piers, breakwaters, dams, weirs, bank and beach protection works, the improvement of harbours and rivers by dredging, the construction, maintenance and operation of government dredging plant, the construction and maintenance of graving docks, the construction and maintenance of interprovincial bridges and approaches thereto, and of bridges on highways of national importance in the Northwest Territories, the maintenance of military roads, also hydrographic and ordinary surveys and examinations, inclusive of some precise levelling and geodetic measurements which are required for the preparation of plans, reports and estimates, river gaugings and metering, the testing of cements and materials of construction, the licensing of international and interprovincial ferries, and the control of works constructed in or over navigable waters by authority of the Navigable Waters Protection Act.